I’ve now been in Australia for 10 full days.  I’m definitely still adjusting to everything here – not only to living in a new country but also to living with people!  And not just people, but strangers! I had been living alone for the last 9 years, with the exception of the last month with my family, and now I’m living with three guys I don’t really know all that well…in a place I don’t know at all. It’s a bit overwhelming.  They have been amazingly nice and accommodating but I can’t help but feel a tiny bit like I’m cramping their style.  Yes, I’m on a year-long holiday but they have normal every day lives to get on with.  I hate being dependent on other people but at the same time I almost have to be in a place I am so unfamiliar with! Super whine fest from me today, I know.  Shush Phoebe, you’re in a foreign country for a year with basically no responsibilities! I sound like a spoiled brat.  MOVING ON.

I saw a Kookaburra the other day and it was so freakin’ cute.  And I saw a few Crimson Rosellas that are really beautiful.  Ah, what else…I ate pizza with egg on it and it really wasn’t that bad at all.  And I’ve (sort of) mastered the art of ordering coffee here.  So far I have only had what they call a “Flat White,” which I think is basically like a latte/cappuccino without the foam?  Whatever it is, it’s awesome.  I am slowly getting used to being on the left side of the road in a car and I’ve even gotten a lot better at remembering to walk to the left.

Enough of an update for now.  I’m hoping to find a job or at least find a place to volunteer sometime soon so I can expand my social circle and not have to rely on the same people to hang out with me. :)  Back to watching baseball on television – a little slice of home.

