The following was written on June 2, 2011.  I never got around to posting it, but at the urging of my mom and fiancé :), I am now.  I hope to get back to blogging very soon.  Can’t wait to be one of those annoying wedding planning blogs… ;)

It wouldn’t surprise me at all if the only person left checking this site on a regular basis is my mother. :) Therefore, this one’s for you, mommy!

I have about three months left in the land down under, and while there have been amazingly high ups and a couple of super low downs, I still wouldn’t change a moment I’ve spent here for anything.  My decision to come to Australia for a year was one I’ll never regret!  Unfortunately, my back issues have come around again to haunt me, and I’m dealing with yet another herniated disc in my lower back.  Most of my days recently have been spent reading blogs online, watching Australian television and reading some good books, because I’m not able to do much else!  Luckily, I have found love in Melbourne, and my boyfriend (Lachlan) has been incredibly patient with me and helpful in every way possible.  There have, of course, been some fun things I’ve gotten up to – a couple of weeks spent on Phillip Island, a trip to Sydney, a trip to the Gold Coast, a ride down half of the Great Ocean Road, days in the city, a million and one concerts, and countless walks/hikes around our neighborhood and the Dandenong Ranges – probably a highlight of my months here. (Mostly because of the wildlife – especially the birds!)

I’ve learned quite a few things while on this working holiday.  I plan to write an entire blog on the subject, but a running theme this year has been one of overindulgence – overindulgence in things ranging from the simple and quite frankly, understandable, (being that I’m in a new place) like foods and drinks, to things more complicated and regrettable, such as attention and compliments from others.  I’ve discovered a lot about myself and others, but perhaps most importantly, I’ve learned what I really want in life.  I love traveling and I plan on doing it for the rest of my time on this earth – there is just so much to see! – as often as my finances will allow, but I’m ready to settle down.  I want a cute little house, a garden with flowers and one with vegetables, a couple of dogs, a porch and a bbq, and a bunch of bird feeders…and Lachlan, who can’t legally live in my home country! That’s a bit of a problem, but I’m sure we’ll work it out. :)  I also think I have realized just how important it is for me to be near my family.  I know lots of people say they have the best family ever, but I REALLY do.  Like, really, I do. :)

Anyway, I am rambling on and on.  There really wasn’t much of a point to this post and it’s definitely not my best piece of writing, but it’s real and it’s me and at least you know I’m still here!

And with that, I give you photos.



