chickenpatience

The generation to which I belong, Generation Y, is well-known for its “I want it, I want to do as little work as possible to achieve it, and I want it NOW” attitude. While I am very much against broad generalizations, I cannot deny that I don’t often deserve to have my own approach to life labeled as such. I’ve always been the type of person to come up with a grand plan or idea and want to make it happen instantly. Whether it’s getting into better shape, completing some sort of course/degree, landing a dream job, or simply purchasing a new cell phone, pair of shoes, pet…whatever!; the thought came to me and I wanted it right then and there. So it isn’t very surprising that when it came to my most recent scheme, moving to Australia for a year, my natural instinct was to do it IMMEDIATELY. (!!!) However, realistically, that just isn’t possible. I am signed in to a lease that doesn’t end until July 2010. I have a job I only started in February. I have to save some freakin’ cash! I can’t just pick up and leave tomorrow. Normally in this situation, I would abort whatever plan was in mind and move on to something else. If I couldn’t have it right away, I didn’t want it at all! Let me just say that this attitude I have about things is not something I am proud of. I consider it to be one of my greatest downfalls/weaknesses and I really, truly, want to become someone who can appreciate the hard work and effort and TIME it takes to put into something before you see some “end result.” I want to learn to love the journey; each and every moment and step it takes to earn a trip, or a purchase, a certificate, or a promotion.

I remember recently buying a new technological gadget.  I made the decision that I wanted it only hours after it was up on the company’s website.  I’d pre-ordered it online and was out of control excited from the moment I clicked “purchase” up until the day it I picked it up from my super’s apartment. This stupid thing was on my mind 24/7. After about 20 minutes of staring at it, pressing every single button and key and learning the ins and outs of the cool new features, I placed it down and said, perhaps even out loud, to myself, “now what?” The excitement I had before receiving my new toy TOTALLY outweighed the joy I found in ACTUALLY HAVING THE DARN THING IN HAND!  I don’t know about you, but I think that sounds completely ass backward.  This item hardly meant a thing to me once I owned it, since I had barely moved a finger in order to receive it.  I hadn’t done squat to earn it.  It was in that moment, that moment of holding some silly, overpriced, unnecessary gizmo, that I realized the value of patience and working to achieve a goal. That may sound crazy, and it may sound like something I should have learned and understood years ago, but since I whole-heartedly subscribe to the “better late than never” deal, I don’t really care! I’d always wanted to resist the idea, but maybe, just maybe, everything really is more enjoyable when it isn’t just handed to you the second you’re overcome with desire to possess it?

I want to become this hard working, journey enjoying person. I also want very badly to go to Australia. I can’t go to Australia without some hard work, some enjoying of the journey (before the Australia leg of the journey has even begun!), and without a whole heck of a lot of patience. So why not use this situation I have found myself in to change my outlook? To, for once, let every tiny part of working toward and waiting for something, soak in. To appreciate and immerse myself in the build up, the preparation, and the planning. To acknowledge and absorb the ups and the downs and the everythings in between. And to also take in everything that Boston has to offer, not just big things, but the little things too, like walking down Comm. Ave. on a 60 degree, blue skied, Fall day, or taking an extra minute to enjoy the beautiful sunset behind the State House dome right outside my apartment window, while I’m still here.

So here’s to the following: Really living in and embracing every moment of our lives, to accepting not only the good things, but also the crap that’s thrown at us when working to achieve or earn something and most importantly, to discovering the happiness scattered along and hidden around the occasionally rough and bumpy, usually long road we may take to a goal, in order to fully love, appreciate, value and never take for granted, the outcome.

